| Warning :: A new wave of domain scam/spam | |||||||||||||
For the past few weeks, our clients have received many email messages from people claiming to be foreign domain-name registrars warning them that someone is trying to register one of their domain name trademarks overseas (in China .cn; or Germany .de; or Europe .eu; or even the United States .us), and giving our clients the "opportunity" to contest it. In another version, you're warned that a guy named "Karl Fischer" is trying to register your domain name(s). We've received an identical or similar scam several times this past week. To quote from one of them: Dear Manager, - What should you do? *** Do NOT reply, and Do NOT click on any link/URL included in the email message. DELETE the message *** If you respond, you are actually alerting these spammers (mostly from China and Hong Kong) that your Web site, brand or company is a valuable commodity. They might purchase the foreign domain name extension and try selling it back to you, or they will tell you that there's a fee of some sort to protect your domain and brand name. In addition, your email address might be sold to spammers and scammers around the world, and your Web site might come under attack by hackers. You can register any domain extensions yourself using one of the major accredited registrars including Register.com, Networksolutions.com or any others. |
|||||||||||||
